Just a small reminder

I was on my way to breakfast this morning and I came around a curve into a clearing and this was my view…

It was a simple view with nothing special about it.
The fog was thick and made visibility pretty low, but as I came to this spot in particular, you could see the sun trying to shine through it all.

It really hit me and made me think.

There is so much hate and so much fighting going on in the world currently. Everybody has an opinion and everybody wants to have a voice and stand up for what they believe in, but I think it’s gotten to the point where people don’t even know what they’re fighting for anymore. They just want to fight. They just want to feel heard, feel like they matter.

I think we’ve forgotten why we are all really here.
I think we’ve started to forget how to just simply love.

When I came around this curve and saw that little bit of sunlight, I thought of how even on the darkest and most hate filled days, the sun is still there.
We might not be able to see it and we might not be able to feel it, but it’s there and we have to trust that it will come back eventually.

That then got me thinking about how even on the darkest and most hate filled days, the Son is still there.
Even when we don’t see Him, even when we don’t feel His presence, He is still ALWAYS with us.

Trusting God is hard.
If you’re anything like me, you like reasons and explanations for things. You like conversation and you like knowing what’s happening and what’s coming next. Unfortunately, we don’t always have that luxury with God. The answers don’t always come in black and white and He isn’t right here to have coffee or a beer with us and tell us if we’re on the right track.

Proverbs 3:5-6 tells us,
“Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways submit to Him and He will make your paths straight.”

We look around and we look back and we look in all the wrong places for answers that we just need to simply look up for.
Sometimes it’s hard, really hard to remember that we don’t have all the answers.
Sometimes the path doesn’t feel so straight.
Sometimes we question how and why and when.
Sometimes we lose hope and want to just give up.
We forget that He already has a plan for us and for our lives.

We just have to trust that He is there even when we don’t know it.

These were the thoughts in my head when I saw the sun, that thing in the sky that makes life on earth possible, trying to break through the fog to remind us it’s still there.
It was my reminder this morning that even in the midst of all the disgusting hate being spewed everywhere lately, there is still something bigger out there than all of us and all of this and He loves us all no matter what.

Something as simple as the sun was my reminder this morning and in case any of you need a small reminder like I did, well here you go.

-XOXO

One comment

  1. Pingback: It’s a Noisy World Out There

Leave a Reply

