New Year, New Me.

img_0516

NOT!

A new year doesn’t always have to mean a new you. I personally am pretty damn happy with who I am right now. Would I like a few things to be different? Of course, I’d be lying if I said everything was perfect.

My life has changed a lot this year. Hell, my life has changed a lot just this month. I feel like my life is changing daily but honestly, it just makes me so excited for what’s to come!

For many people, it seems as though 2016 is a year they can’t wait to get out of. I’ve definitely made the jokes right alongside everybody about it being a terrible year, but in reality 2016 was an amazing year for me. It took me on more adventures than I ever imagined. Not just in a travel sense, but in a very personal and emotional sense as well and I’m proud of the way I came out of it all.

I was told by someone that moving home from Nashville wasn’t a way of starting over or a fresh start, but that I was going backwards. That one hurt a little bit. At a time in my life when I was already questioning so much, hearing that stung. I let it sit for a minute and then realized all that statement did to me was confirm I was making the right decision and motivate me to prove anybody who thought that way wrong.

I’ve spent the time since I moved home finding myself again and trying my very best to stop wishing time away and live right here and right now like I don’t have tomorrow.

“Yesterday is history, tomorrow is a mystery, today is a gift of God, which is why we call it the present.”

It’s so simple and such a cliche, but it’s so incredibly true.

With a new year everybody has all of their resolutions and high hopes for changes. I personally am not making any resolutions this year. I am, however, choosing a word to focus my year around.
My word is simple.
LIVE.
I’m choosing to live my life exactly how I want to and taking it one day at a time. I want to enjoy every moment. I want to experience everything I can. I want to be the best version of myself. I want to be here, in the present, with the people I love.
I want to simply live.

So here’s to a new year full of hope and chances and a completely blank canvas. Make it whatever you want it to be and don’t let anybody else paint it for you.

-XOXO

Leave a Reply

