Here’s to another amazing chapter

Hi guys.
To be honest, I’m not really sure how to start this post. I have tried to write this one a few times and the words just never seem to come to me. This past weekend though I officially closed a huge chapter of my life and now it seems as the words are just being typed and I’m not even having to think about it.

A lot of you know by now, but for the few that don’t, I moved back to Michigan. I have been home since the beginning of May. Why am I saying that I am just now closing that chapter of my life? Well, I still had my apartment until now. I decided to keep my lease through the summer since I had signed for a year and I knew I would be going back down there to work for a week in June. This past weekend was possibly the longest 36 hours of my life though.

Myself, my dad, and a moving truck. 9 hours each way. 6 hours to pack and load my entire apartment. Little sleep and sore bodies. But, we did it.
Now, moving on.

I moved to Nashville with huge dreams and a stubbornness to would make them come true. I thought if I stayed in Michigan I would be settling for a small town, mediocre life and I wanted bigger and better than that. I wanted Nashville to be my home. I wanted an amazing life with lots of adventures and epic stories to tell my kids someday. I wanted to do celebrity hair. I wanted to work behind the scenes, work photoshoots, and get people red carpet ready. Well, I got that. I did all of those things and they were SO cool and I will never take any of those memories for granted; however, it was in the process of getting everything I thought I always wanted when I realized I had it all along.

Meeting celebrities was cool and having a kickass job was, well, kickass, but at the end of the day everybody and everything important to me was 8 hours away and nothing could make that distance disappear.

I do not regret moving to Nashville even remotely.
At that time in my life it was exactly what I needed. It changed my life and for that I will always look back on those 8 months as some of the best. The past year has felt like a roller coaster that was never going to end. Lots of ups and downs, lots of twists and turns, and lots of being flipped upside down. I shed many tears, but shared many laughs. I learned a lot about myself, a lot about others, and a lot about life.

When I decided to move home it was a pretty quick decision, yet a very thought out one. I talked about it a lot with family and friends and definitely prayed about it. It was not the easiest decision I had ever made, but it was one I had just as much peace about as the one to move south in the first place.

Some may say that people can’t change, well I disagree.
Nashville changed me.
I now look at the simple things as extraordinary. What I used to take for granted, I now embrace. The little things in life are usually the most important and doing the things that scare you immensely often end up to be the most rewarding.
I enjoy the slow and simple now. I don’t feel stuck anymore, but I feel like I am finally exactly where I’m supposed to be.

Life is funny.
It has twists and turns, curve balls, and so many hills. I’ve encountered all of them in the past 12 months and I’m sure I will keep encountering them for years to come. I’m not worried about that though. I have people around me that love and support me, a life I am absolutely, INSANELY in love with, and a feeling of “home” that will never go away. I’ve always heard home is not a place, but a feeling.
I will forever be the first to support that statement.

XOXO

Leave a Reply

