6 Months of Nashville

6 months ago today I did the scariest thing I’ve done in my entire life by packing up my car and driving 8 hours south. I was on my way to a brand new city full of brand new people and brand new opportunities to make it my home.

It has been the most exciting, rewarding, and challenging 6 months of my life and I wouldn’t take back one second of it. Okay, maybe 1 or 2 seconds, but overall it has been incredible. I’ve had opportunities that so many people only dream of. Hell, I used to be the one dreaming of them and now I’m living them. Not everybody gets to live out their dreams and I’m beyond grateful that I get to every day.


So now for a little update.

Last time I wrote, I was on my way to Florida for “work”, but really it was more of a mini vacation with just a tad bit of work one day. It was great! I felt like I was living somebody else’s life. I had to pinch myself a few times to make sure it was really mine. Although let’s be real, I have to do that almost daily.

We got to hang backstage at the concert all day and it was a feeling I’ll never forget.

IMG_0041

IMG_0040

We did make our way into the crowd a few times though to make sure we got the full experience of the day.

IMG_0039

IMG_0045

[Quick side note, when I started my job down here at The Dry House, I was just a stylist. I am now the owner’s assistant. I’m sure some of you will wonder what that entails, so…I still do hair everyday, but I work a lot more one on one with my boss, Ali. I assist her (hence assistant) with most of her clients and get to learn a lot from somebody who has worked extremely hard to get where they are.]

Now where were we?

Being an assistant is how I get most of my traveling opportunities. That could be out of the state, or just out of the salon for the day. We got to do a shoot a couple weeks ago with one of her clients, RaeLynn. If you’re a fan of The Voice, you will know exactly who she is, and if you’re a fan of country music, I’m sure you know as well. It was my first time being on set for a shoot making it another thing I will never forget.

IMG_0043

Nashville also had another snowstorm. Usually a snow “storm” in Nashville is maybe an inch of snow that is melted by noon the next day, but this one actually dumped quite a bit of snow on this poor southern city. In other words, Nashville was basically closed for like 3 days, and no, I’m not kidding. The entire city basically shuts down with any snow here. If there is even a chance for snow over night, 90% of the schools will close the night before. Being from Michigan, I just sit back and laugh.

IMG_0049.jpg

I can’t say that I miss the snow, even a little bit, but it was pretty from inside my apartment.


To sum things up, life is treating me really well. I’m happy, work is great, and the most exciting part is this is just the beginning.

I can’t wait to see what is yet to come for me.

-XOXO

Leave a Reply

